Hi,
In the test calculator, 2 means, we now get the INdependent t-test. Would it be possible
also to implement
the dependent t-test?
Best regards,
Lars
Lars Palsson Syll
Professor of Civics
Malmo University
Sweden
>> 10-02-03 03:39 >>>
Send Gretl-users mailing
list submissions to
gretl-users(a)lists.wfu.edu
To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
http://lists.wfu.edu/mailman/listinfo/gretl-users
or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
gretl-users-request(a)lists.wfu.edu
You can reach the person managing the list at
gretl-users-owner(a)lists.wfu.edu
When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
than "Re: Contents of Gretl-users digest..."
Today's Topics:
1. Re: scalar in loop condition (Berend Hasselman)
2. Re: scalar in loop condition (Allin Cottrell)
3. Re: scalar in loop condition (Berend Hasselman)
4. Re: scalar in loop condition (Summers, Peter)
5. ODBC troubles (Chris)
6. Working With R: Not Working!!! (Charles L. Phillips)
7. Re: scalar in loop condition (Allin Cottrell)
8. Re: Working With R: Not Working!!! (Allin Cottrell)
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Message: 1
Date: Tue, 2 Feb 2010 21:11:26 +0100
From: Berend Hasselman
Subject: Re: [Gretl-users] scalar in loop condition
To: Gretl list
Message-ID: <0ADFFCD0-7D4D-41AC-8219-16CE7E26FABF(a)xs4all.nl>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
On 02-02-2010, at 20:25, Summers, Peter wrote:
Hi folks,
The following has me at a complete loss.
\begin{script}
n = 25; # sample size
nreps = 1; # number of replications
beta1 = 1;
beta2 = 0.8; # true values of parameters
b1 = 0;
b2 = 0;
nulldata n
This nulldata nulls your data. So now nreps is no longer exists.
The nulldata should be placed at the top of the script.
loop ii=1..nreps
# simulate data
series y = zeros(n,1)
series u = normal()
#y[1] = beta1 + u[1]
loop jj=2..n --quiet
y[jj] = beta1 + beta2[jj-1] + u[jj]
This does not agree with your specification above and will give an error since you are
indexing a scalar.
I think this should be:
y[jj] = beta1 + beta2 + u[jj]
See attached corrected script.
Berend
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: ETM_3_1.inp
Type: application/octet-stream
Size: 944 bytes
Desc: not available
Url :
http://lists.wfu.edu/pipermail/gretl-users/attachments/20100202/183cf1e6/...
-------------- next part --------------
------------------------------
Message: 2
Date: Tue, 2 Feb 2010 15:25:30 -0500 (EST)
From: Allin Cottrell
Subject: Re: [Gretl-users] scalar in loop condition
To: Gretl list
Message-ID:
Content-Type: TEXT/PLAIN; charset=US-ASCII
On Tue, 2 Feb 2010, Summers, Peter wrote:
However, when I try to run the following one, I get an error
saying "undefined variable nreps in loop condition". This
happens even though the script output says "generated scalar
nreps = 1:"
\begin{script}
n = 25; # sample size
nreps = 1; # number of replications
beta1 = 1;
beta2 = 0.8; # true values of parameters
b1 = 0;
b2 = 0;
nulldata n
loop ii=1..nreps
You just deleted nreps via the nulldata command. Use
nulldata --preserve to preserve existing scalars and matrices.
BTW, the trailing semi-colons are not needed (though they
shouldn't do any harm).
Allin.
------------------------------
Message: 3
Date: Tue, 2 Feb 2010 21:31:42 +0100
From: Berend Hasselman
Subject: Re: [Gretl-users] scalar in loop condition
To: Gretl list
Message-ID:
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
On 02-02-2010, at 21:11, Berend Hasselman wrote:
This does not agree with your specification above and will give an error since you are
indexing a scalar.
I think this should be:
y[jj] = beta1 + beta2 + u[jj]
I should have written:
y[jj] = beta1 + beta2 * y[jj-1] + u[jj]
It's correct in the script.
Berend
------------------------------
Message: 4
Date: Tue, 2 Feb 2010 14:51:14 -0600
From: "Summers, Peter"
Subject: Re: [Gretl-users] scalar in loop condition
To: Gretl list
Message-ID:
<8885DA157278484489B1EBC8B8C043E3E3330A5743(a)COTTUS.ttu.edu>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Thanks all, it's working now.
However, I did have to close gretl then re-open it to get rid of the "nulldata not
available in loop" error.
PS
-----Original Message-----
From: gretl-users-bounces(a)lists.wfu.edu [mailto:gretl-users-bounces@lists.wfu.edu] On
Behalf Of Berend Hasselman
Sent: Tuesday, February 02, 2010 2:32 PM
To: Gretl list
Subject: Re: [Gretl-users] scalar in loop condition
On 02-02-2010, at 21:11, Berend Hasselman wrote:
This does not agree with your specification above and will give an error since you are
indexing a scalar.
I think this should be:
y[jj] = beta1 + beta2 + u[jj]
I should have written:
y[jj] = beta1 + beta2 * y[jj-1] + u[jj]
It's correct in the script.
Berend
_______________________________________________
Gretl-users mailing list
Gretl-users(a)lists.wfu.edu
http://lists.wfu.edu/mailman/listinfo/gretl-users
------------------------------
Message: 5
Date: Tue, 2 Feb 2010 14:39:10 -0700
From: Chris
Subject: [Gretl-users] ODBC troubles
To: gretl-users(a)lists.wfu.edu
Message-ID:
<93b3787f1002021339o13a60c3dy42ba2c8adbe4049f(a)mail.gmail.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
Hi,
I'm having some trouble getting data into gretl through ODBC. I have a
fairly large sql statement, so I'm importing it from a file. When I run the
data command I get an error and it halts. Here's the command script:
nulldata 160
setobs 5 2001:1 --time-series
open dsn=guestCalgary user=####### password=##### --odbc
string QRY1 = readfile("C:/gretl/maxbufftemp.txt")
data maxbufftemp obs-format-"%d" @QRY1 --odbc
gives me this error:
gretl version 1.8.7
Current session: 2010-02-02 14:34
? nulldata 160
periodicity: 1, maxobs: 160,
observations range: 1-160
? setobs 5 2001:1 --time-series
Full data range: 2001 - 2160 (n = 160)
? open dsn=guestCalgary user=##### password=#### --odbc
Connected to ODBC data source 'guestCalgary'
? string QRY1 = readfile("C:/gretl/maxbufftemp.txt")
Replaced string QRY1
? data maxbufftemp obs-format-"%d" @QRY1 --odbc
Error executing script: halting
data maxbufftemp obs-format-"%d" @QRY1 --odbc
I have been able to get data from the db with simple queries, so I was
wondering, how do I get gretl to tell me what is stored in QRY1? I've tried
print, but I can't get it to work and I think that would be the obvious
place to start (verifying that my sql call got imported properly). next, I
think I might be messing up the obs-format portion of the call. The output
from the big sql query is 2 columns, 1 8 digit identifier and 1 number with
2 decimal places.
Also, are there any plans to implement more robust ODBC support? It would be
great to be able to import multiple variables at once.
Thanks,
Chris
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL:
http://lists.wfu.edu/pipermail/gretl-users/attachments/20100202/f84f74f4/...
------------------------------
Message: 6
Date: Tue, 2 Feb 2010 15:56:01 -0800 (PST)
From: "Charles L. Phillips"
Subject: [Gretl-users] Working With R: Not Working!!!
To: gretl-users(a)lists.wfu.edu
Message-ID: <759005.77937.qm(a)web35703.mail.mud.yahoo.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Hello,
How are you doing today???
I am "NEW" to this group and using Gretl.
I have R 2.8 on a HP Compaq with Windows XP SP3.
As far as I know, R is configured correctly on my laptop.
I have had no problems with or using R.
I downloaded Gretl, and started applying te "User's Guide".
When I tried applying the examples/samples of using R, I did not get the same results. As
a matter of fact, R did not respond as note in the examples/samples of the User's
Guide.
I need to know the following:
1. Is there additional configuration I need to do???
2. Can Gretl work with R 2.10.1?????
3. Do I need ANY additional information or files to work with R
Let me know...
Thank you,
Inquire_98
"This e-mail and any files transmitted with it are intended solely for the use of the
individual or entity to which they are addressed and may contain confidential and/or
privileged material. Any review, retransmission, dissemination or other use of, or taking
of any action in reliance upon, this information by persons or entities other than the
intended recipient is prohibited. If you have received this e-mail in error, please
contact the sender and delete the material from your computer. Please note that any view
or opinions presented in this e-mail are solely those of the author and do not necessarily
represent those of Primes. ("Primes") and/or its subsidiaries. Finally, the
recipient should check this e-mail and any attachments for the presence of viruses. Primes
accepts no liability for any damage caused by any virus transmitted by this e-mail."
------------------------------
Message: 7
Date: Tue, 2 Feb 2010 21:23:52 -0500 (EST)
From: Allin Cottrell
Subject: Re: [Gretl-users] scalar in loop condition
To: Gretl list
Message-ID:
Content-Type: TEXT/PLAIN; charset=US-ASCII
On Tue, 2 Feb 2010, Summers, Peter wrote:
However, I did have to close gretl then re-open it to get rid of
the "nulldata not available in loop" error.
You can type "endloop" in the gretl console to get out of a broken
loop.
Allin Cottrell
------------------------------
Message: 8
Date: Tue, 2 Feb 2010 21:31:57 -0500 (EST)
From: Allin Cottrell
Subject: Re: [Gretl-users] Working With R: Not Working!!!
To: Gretl list
Message-ID:
Content-Type: TEXT/PLAIN; charset=US-ASCII
On Tue, 2 Feb 2010, Charles L. Phillips wrote:
I am "NEW" to this group and using Gretl.
I have R 2.8 on a HP Compaq with Windows XP SP3.
As far as I know, R is configured correctly on my laptop.
I have had no problems with or using R.
I downloaded Gretl, and started applying te "User's Guide".
When I tried applying the examples/samples of using R, I did not
get the same results. As a matter of fact, R did not respond as
note in the examples/samples of the User's Guide.
I need to know the following:
1. Is there additional configuration I need to do???
2. Can Gretl work with R 2.10.1?????
3. Do I need ANY additional information or files to work with R
gretl's interaction with R should work "out of the box" for both R
2.8 and current R (2.10.1). No additional configuration should be
required, other than perhaps adjusting the setting for
"command to launch GNU R" under the Programs tab in
/Tools/Preferences/General.
If you're experiencing some specific problem, please tell us what
it is, in reasonable detail.
Allin Cottrell
------------------------------
_______________________________________________
Gretl-users mailing list
Gretl-users(a)lists.wfu.edu
http://lists.wfu.edu/mailman/listinfo/gretl-users
End of Gretl-users Digest, Vol 37, Issue 3
******************************************